Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply

of 1

2012-09-16 7:46 PM

User image

Pro
Twin Cities
Subject: Vet/animal peeps: CRF in cats

Hi all...

Anyone up for a discussion of CRF (or whatever it's called in your neck o' the woods...CRF, CKD, CRI, etc.)?

Up until this weekend, my most recent experience was with a 19-year-old cat--and that was only for palliative care.

Now, our 8-year old DSH is suddenly showing numbers/symptoms that say he is in renal failure (chronic, not acute). I know the variability of conditions is HUGE, but would like to chat with whomever I can.

We are making a trip back to  the vet in the AM (and were there yesterday).

2012-09-16 8:44 PM
in reply to: #4413797

User image

Master
Subject: RE: Vet/animal peeps: CRF in cats
I'm a vet tech, willing to answer questions if I can.  Ask away!
2012-09-16 8:45 PM

Had a 19 yo cat that we did IV's on for months. Started with once every 2 weeks then over 9+ months went down to every few days until it was obviously crazy to continue. She tolerated the home injections really well-my hubby held her and I gave the injection in her skin right by her shoulder area.
Is this the info you are interested in?
That cat had the highest will to live-she was on chemo therapy for lymphoma, the acupuncture for chemo related anorexia, then the CRF but hat was 3 years after her cancer.
There are diet changes that can help-I would find holistic vets if I could but I know that isn't for everyone.
Good luck!!
2012-09-16 8:52 PM

User image

Pro
Twin Cities

Here's our scoop:

I lost a cat to CRF a few years back, however, she was 19, and it was relatively quick. Her treatment was palliative only. Our newly diagnosed kitty is Momo, a male, black DSH. He's 8 (will be 9 in November). Until recently, he was a hale, hearty, and...well...chunky fellow. (we have three other cats and two dogs)