General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Overuse swim injury Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-11-25 11:44 AM

User image

Champion
Alabama
Subject: Overuse swim injury
I'm not a doctor but have internet-diagnosed myself with an overuse swim injury to the shoulder blade muscles in the middle of my back. After being on the road for business and not swimming for 18 months, I changed jobs and have gotten back into a routine. I was a bit over zealous though and in 2 months time I went from zero swimming to swimming 5 miles / week (1750 yds x 5 days). I took the last 6 days off but am still hurting between the shoulder blades.

1. Have you ever had an overuse injury from swimming? How long was recovery?

2. Is there any value going to an ortho/sports med doc? Is there anything they can do to expedite recovery?

3. Should I quit swimming at all or just cut way back?

2012-11-25 12:03 PM
in reply to: #4509243

User image

Veteran
Illinois
Subject: RE: Overuse swim injury

I'm recoverying from a strained right shoulder right now, too, on a similar set of circumstances; I went from zero swimming to two to three times per week, and then swam on a tight shoulder that  I really probably shouldn't not have swam on.  I feel about 85% right now, about five days later, but I plan to take the next full week off from swimming just to be certain.  That probably means I'll have a foot strain in a week, due to the extra running and cycling

If you haven't seen any major reduction in pain or soreness in six days, it's probably time for a trip to the doctor.

2012-11-25 12:15 PM

User image

Coach
Stairway to Seven
behind the shoulder blad is a difficult place to injure, but an easy place to get muscle tension & knots. How about a massage?

(this is not medical advice)
2012-11-25 1:51 PM
in reply to: #4509261

User image

Champion
Alabama
AdventureBear - 2012-11-25 12:15 PM