General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Tri bike sizing Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-01-16 5:17 PM

User image

Miami
Subject: Tri bike sizing
I am about to buy a 2012 Cervelo P2, I am 5'10" 1/2 and 32" inseam.This is my first tri bike and I am not sure/I have no experience on how these bikes are supposed to feel when you are riding them. I currently have a road bike (Specialized Allez), it is a 56 and fits well. The LBS recommended me a 54 for the P2, since they offer a fitting with the purchase. However, they only have a 54 in stock and I'm wondering if they recommended that size for that reason. I tried the bike and it seems ok, but again I have no experience with these types of bikes nor I have the opportunity to try a 56 (only LBS in town that has Cervelo) to see of it feels better. Do you think that given my height and inseam I am better fit for a 56 or a 54?Thank you for your help!

2013-01-16 5:43 PM
in reply to: #4581698

User image

Pro
Subject: RE: Tri bike sizing

it's hard to tell, as each person's fit is a little different, but a P2 in a 54" is a pretty reasonable choice for someone your size.

But let's say- just for fun, that you are right in the middle and can be fit on either the 54 or 56. 

On the larger bike, you would need to lower your seat a little bit more, relative to the frame, so your front end would feel like it's a bit 'higher' up.  On the smaller bike- your seat would be raised and the cockpit would be relatively lower- allowing your torso and head to be in a lower, more agressive position.