General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Sinking Hips - Pull Buoy v Wetsuit? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-01-24 11:09 AM

User image

Los Gatos
Subject: Sinking Hips - Pull Buoy v Wetsuit?

I'm a newbie triathlete and a horrible swimmer.

Specifically, I have a real problem with "uphill swimming" - I have heavy legs and poor torso flexibility due to some historical back issues so no matter what I do, my hips sink.

Here's the thing: if I correct the buoyancy issue by swimming with a pull buoy between my legs, I fly through the water. Which seems to indicate that - apart from my sinking hips - my form is otherwise pretty good.

My question - obviously I can't compete with a pull buoy! But would a good wetsuit provide me the same kind of buoyancy as a pull buoy?

2013-01-24 11:13 AM
in reply to: #4592862

User image

Elite
PEI, Canada
Subject: RE: Sinking Hips - Pull Buoy v Wetsuit?
smallard - 2013-01-24 1:09 PM

Specifically, I have a real problem with "uphill swimming" - I have heavy legs and poor torso flexibility due to some historical back issues so no matter what I do, my hips sink.

Here's the thing: if I correct the buoyancy issue by swimming with a pull buoy between my legs, I fly through the water. Which seems to indicate that - apart from my sinking hips - my form is otherwise pretty good.

My question - obviously I can't compete with a pull buoy! But would a good wetsuit provide me the same kind of buoyancy as a pull buoy?

The answer to your question is "probably, likely even more so" but I would suggest not going with the bolded above and giving up.  

2013-01-24 11:30 AM

User image

Veteran
How is your kicking? Try going the opposite and get a kick board and work on kicking and positioning in the water.
2013-01-24 11:32 AM

User image

Master
Overland Park, KS

What helps me 'train" my body not to sink (I have a poor kick) is one-armed drills.