General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Lafayette Bike Training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-02-25 2:25 PM

Subject: Lafayette Bike Training

Hey gang,

I'm new to the road/tri bike.  I've been training for my first sprint, mostly on spin bikes at reds.  I'm ready to get out on the road and practice going 18 miles.  Any suggestions for the best/safest places to do it in Laf?  I'm considering riding laps around Bendel neighborhood, but would appreciate any other suggestions.

Thanks

2013-02-26 9:42 AM
in reply to: #4636470

User image

Resident Curmudgeon
The Road Back
Gold member
Subject: RE: Lafayette Bike Training
The Bendel loop is ok, but it's less than two miles around with stop signs. Will get old if you're doing any distance.

I do most of my riding in the northeast quadrant of the parish, either leaving from Acadiana Park on the south end of my loop, or from my house on the north end. When time changes we will have a regular Wednesday ride with a small group of tri club members. If you search the Routes section here you can find some routes that I have posted.

This should be the basic long route

http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/discussion/training/map.asp?routeid=25206

You can also search mapmyride for "Acadiana Park" to see a few variations I've posted there.

If you prefer the south side, a lot of people ride out of Sugar Mill Pond on Chemin Metairie and other roads to the south. Firefighter has a good southside route posted in the Routes section.

Let me know if you need more specific information.

2013-03-04 2:05 PM

Lafayette, LA.

Where do you live in Lafayette?  I ride both Saturday and Sunday mornings from my house; I'd be happy to show you some safe(ish) routes.  Shoot me an email at [email protected] if interested.

trav

2013-03-18 10:51 PM

User image

Youngsville