General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » New to Training...Mom from Texas Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2003-11-27 10:22 AM

Subject: New to Training...Mom from Texas
This is my first time to train for anything really. I swam on the swim team for over 8 years when I was a kid, so I'm a fairly strong swimmer. I've biked a 10 mile trek once in my life over hills and such and lived. I was a runner in high school. Overall, I feel like I have an athletic background, but I've never really pushed myself or "trained" for anything.

Now I am 36 years old with 2 children and I am completely out of shape. I saw a flyer for a mini-triathlon for next Sept '04 and thought that it would be a great goal and would help me to achieve what I want to achieve. I have about 40 lbs. to lose and a long way to go, but I think I can do this! A friend of mine is training with me and we have the next 2 months all planned out. I am currently running/walking 1.5 - 2 miles a day, 5 days a week.

If anyone has any helpful hints, suggestions, or motivational thoughts, please send them my way.

By the way, this web site is awesome!!!!!!
Thanks, Susan in TX

2003-11-27 12:35 PM
in reply to: #2129

Veteran
Brisbane-Melbourne, Australia
Subject: RE: New to Training...Mom from Texas
Welcome mate. Good to see you have made a start. Suggestions and toughts, well you have started something now !!!!! Have a look at the beginners programs, there a good basis to step off on. Look forward to hearing your progress

Craig
2003-11-27 3:27 PM

New user

Nowra, Australia