General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Neck/Shoulder Pain Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-04-10 11:17 PM

User image

New user
Subject: Neck/Shoulder Pain
I have been getting knots in my neck going down to the shoulder blade on both sides over the last month or two. I have been training for a tri since January and normally I don't get this type of injury over and over (more like 1-2 times a year). Is this due to swimming and the repetitive motion or the leaning over on the bike, or both. I teach tennis for a living so my right shoulder at least is used to repetitive motion of rotation, but even that one has seen some soreness over the last month (it has occurred twice on the left shoulder, once on the right). Just wondering if anyone else has had this issue. Thanks in advance.

2013-04-11 5:15 AM
in reply to: #4695745

User image

Pro
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Subject: RE: Neck/Shoulder Pain

A little more information might help.  Have you been professionally fitted on your bike?  What is your swimming experience?  Have you ever worked with a coach or swimming instructor?

Eliminating these variables as possible causes or contributing factors can be a good starting point.

You also mention that you get this injury 1-2 times a year.  Is that just since you've been a triathlete, or does it go back to before you participated in this sport?

2013-04-11 7:36 AM

User image

Are you new to cycling? I got tremendous shoulder pain at the beginning because I was tensing my arms/shoulders when cycling.
2013-04-11 9:32 AM
in reply to: #4695931

User image

Regular
SF Bay area

miamiamy - 2013-04-11 5:36 AM Are you new to cycling? I got tremendous shoulder pain at the beginning because I was tensing my arms/shoulders when cycling.

What did you do to get yourself to relax the arms/shoulders.  I have a similar issue on my left shoulder (under the scapula) and have been trying to figure out what to do differently.

2013-04-11 11:44 AM
in reply to: #4695836