Life Time Fitness
90F / 32C
Sunny
Total Time = 5h 55m 17s
Overall Rank = 210/439
Age Group = 45-49
Age Group Rank = 35/69
Pre-race routine:

Grabbed some Clif Protein bar (crunch peanut butter), water, and a pre-race overcaffeinated drink to sip on. Drove to the event, parked, and walked to the transition area. The initial event guide said that the transition area would close at 6:15, but it didn't. I lubed up like a Crisco laden athlete, talked to my wife who stood right by the transition area, and got my poop in a group. There were several people who had decided to use the "leadman 125" transition mat that they gave out as a freebie. Well, that's like using a RV sized mat in a MINI Cooper world. Really, people? I'm not a pro, but at least throw down a small towel or whatevs, and give people some room to make their nest as well. The lady next to me (bless her) had this giant sized mat and a grocery bag full of goodies in her "spot" and then she asks me to scoot over...crazy funny.
Event warmup:

1 Rocktane about 20 minutes before the swim, sipped on water. Wiggled my a$$ into the figure flattering wetsuit, had my wife zip it up from top to bottom (for some reason this is much harder than the "normal" zipper configuration) and then waited in the line for the green capped peeps to get wet.
Swim
  • 57m 7s
  • 2500 meters
  • 02m 17s / 100 meters
Comments:

This was just a "hard training day" for me as I had just done Oceanside 70.3 2 weeks ago and am looking forward to doing the Buffalo Springs 70.3 in June and in full on training mode for that. That being said, I wasn't exactly feeling this swim at all. My first 200 consisted of jockeying for position until I found some clear water for myself. My form wasn't exactly stellar and it went to crap for most of the swim. I was so proud of myself for peeing in the middle of the swim that I got off course and swam (obviously concentrating so hard) right past the turn around buoy. Genius move, there.