General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Help! Cant tolerate sport drinks. Advice? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-05-10 5:09 PM

Subject: Help! Cant tolerate sport drinks. Advice?

I am new to endurance sports but training for the CDA Ironman this June. I had a marathon last fall cut short because of severe stomach cramping with no clear reason why. At first i suspected the GU gels we were using, since I had very little training with them, but recently I purchased the PowerBar Perform mix which produced a similar result. This time I only had 16 oz of the stuff during a swim practice, but was left cramping and vomiting all day!

My guess is that I was also reacting to the Gatorade when I ran the marathon.

I read about some others that had similar problems during some of the races, but I havent heard of anyone with that level of intolerance though I am sure they are out there. 

Now I am trying to determine an appropriate nutrition strategy for IM CDA without sports drinks.

I am hoping that someone has a success story for avoiding the sports drinks during such a long event. I am 200+ so I will need some good caloric intake throughout the day.

Thanks for the advice!

2013-05-10 6:10 PM
in reply to: #4737175

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Help! Cant tolerate sport drinks. Advice?