General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First Triathlon (Olympic) Impressions Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-05-22 11:21 PM

User image

Subject: First Triathlon (Olympic) Impressions
I completed my first ever triathlon this past weekend. I did an olympic distance. First I want to say that I truly enjoyed the experience and the challenge. It was amazing. I am sure I will be doing more events in the future. Here are my impressions and lessons learned.

My background: I have been running for the past 4 years at distances ranging from 10k, half marathon, marathon and ultra. I am not a fast runner at all and simply do the long distance for the challenge and enjoyment with my best friend. I started riding about 9 months ago. I started swimming about 9 months ago as well. I had never swam in open water but am very comfortable in the water and a lake. I was not nervous at all about being in the open water. I have never swam in a wetsuit either. Please don't flame me for not having ever trained in open water or with a wetsuit. I understand that I should have but it wasn't an option. I have been training by running, riding and swimming 4-6 times a week depending on the week. I would ride or run 4-5 times a week swim usually once but sometimes twice. I always rode at least 20-25 miles, ran 6-8 miles and swam 1.2 miles. I have recently completed a century (100 Mile not Kilometer) ride.

Race day conditions: 65-75 degrees warming to about 80. Slightly overcast and a slight 4-7 mph breeze. Water temp was 66. Great in my opinion.