General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike aid station question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-05-27 12:22 AM

User image

Subject: Bike aid station question
I'm new to HIM and IM that I'll be doing soon and as it's getting closer, I'm getting more and more worried about some things...

For the drinks on a bike, are you supposed to bring your own filled water bottles and then refill them at aid stations or do you swap out actual bottles at aid stations? I guess my main concern/question is how do bike aid stations work? My shorter triathlons didn't really have any (that I remember at least) and my 1-2 bottles I had prepared on the bike were enough for me but that won't be the case going forward.

2013-05-27 12:32 AM
in reply to: Blastman

User image

Master
Kailua, Hawaii
Subject: RE: Bike aid station question
you start off with your own bottle(s), filled with whatever hydration you choose.

then at the bike aid station, there is a bottle handoff, where you pick up a filled bottle (typically water, perform, or gatorade)

if you plan on exchanging, you toss your empty bottle prior to the getting the new one (yes you lose your water bottle).

remember when you come in for a bottle, slow down and be careful. this is a congested place with water on the road, it can be dangerous!
2013-05-27 7:47 AM

Veteran
Tennessee
I just went by a gas station and bought a water bottle and Gatorade with a that fit in my bottle cage. I didn't want to throw away a good bottle. I also froze the water bottle so it would be somewhat cold when I started the bike. Be sure and slow down. I went in to fast at one and nearly took my shoulder off on the hand off.
2013-05-27 8:39 AM

User image