General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Wanna feel good? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2013-05-27 7:05 AM

User image

Expert
Floriduh
Subject: Wanna feel good?
About the shape you are in? Just go to Disney Wolrd. Sheesh.

2013-05-27 9:31 AM
in reply to: Oysterboy

User image

Subject: RE: Wanna feel good?
The first time I went to Disney World it was 1979. I went back a few years ago and man, have things changed. I could not believe the size of those turkey legs they were selling for $9 (?!). I am 5'6" and 131 lbs, boy, was I the outlier on the bell curve of the typical person I saw there.
2013-05-27 12:06 PM

User image

Regular
LHOTP
I hear ya.  I work in a hospital, and walking those halls can make you very grateful and very ready for your next training session.
2013-05-27 12:20 PM
in reply to: switch

User image

Master
Toronto
Bronze member
Haha, we were talking about that this weekend - and we went more than 2 years ago.

I was shocked at the number of mobility scooters - especially the ones where parents were driving them with kids on their laps ... the worst had to be waiting for a bus back to the resort when these ladies on scooters butted in front of a girl with serious disabilities who has clearly suffering in the heat. The bus only fits so many scooters/wheelchairs. So sad. I wanted to go tear a strip off them.

Definitely felt very fit and in shape there.
2013-05-27 1:59 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Silicon Valley
Originally posted by switch

I hear ya.  I work in a hospital, and walking those halls can make you very grateful and very ready for your next training session.

I don't know if you are referring to the patients or staff but...I had hip surgery 7 weeks ago (cycling accident) and was amazed at the number of obese nurses. At least 40-50% were overweight by some common measure. Really surprised me.

2013-05-27 2:15 PM
in reply to: Stuartap

User image

Regular
LHOTP

Originally posted by Stuartap