Canadian Triathlon Forum Ontario » 1st Olympic? Mistake? Rss Feed  
Moderators: Silver_wlf, alicefoeller Reply
2013-05-29 11:02 PM

Subject: 1st Olympic? Mistake?
I am a beginner triathlete... loving it and as mentioned the other day loved my first MSC event (which was my 2nd tri ever).
So this question isn't a knock on MSC but a question about the venue - Wasaga. I've been reading race reports and reviews about Wasaga which I had slated for my first Olympic distance and I've quite honestly been scared to death since. The bike and run aren't my concern, swimming 1.5KM open water is, well wouldn't be until I started reading about Wasaga's chop. Should I be worried about it and change to the Sprint distance (or give it a try distance to wrap my season up with a more relaxed effor) and then aim for an Olympic next season as a good goal (or target the Eleven Series Olympic tri in Niagara in September?)?

2013-05-30 3:55 AM
in reply to: #4760982

User image

Subject: RE: 1st Olympic? Mistake?
I wouldn't worry about it. If the weather is bad they generally move the swim I believe. But under normal conditions the water is completely manageable. You have plenty of time until then to build up swim strength as well. Only thing I didn't care for about the swim was that there is a bit of extended running through shallow water.
2013-05-31 10:02 AM
in reply to: ngrunberg

User image

Oakville
I only did the give-it-a-try in 2011, but the chop and waves weren't bad at all. I didn't have a wetsuit and the water temperature was fine.

I also did the sprint distance last year, but the swim was cancelled - extremely high winds and huge waves.

There is the option to move the swim to the river, but that didn't work in 2012 as they river water tests exceeded the legal limits.

I've read that weather conditions for Wasaga in early September are always a bit of a risk, so you do take your chances that the wind will pick up and affect the water.