General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Supplement to help swimming strength, but not hurt running? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-06-02 5:23 PM

Subject: Supplement to help swimming strength, but not hurt running?
Hey all, I'm new to triathlon training, and I was wondering if, as the title says, there are any good supplements that will help with gaining swimming strength, but that won't hurt my running. I run competitively, so I'm not sure if I should use creatine because of the added water weight that it tends to add. My upper body was stronger/bigger when I used to swim competitively, but I've lost some size/weight when I began running. I'd just like to add some lean muscle so that I will be a more efficient swimmer, without negatively affecting my running. Any suggestions?

2013-06-02 6:56 PM
in reply to: xc_stallion92

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Supplement to help swimming strength, but not hurt running?
Not into supplements, and anyway, nothing but illegal stuff would probably build muscle on my scrawny excuse for a body, but....I'd suggest that swimming more will pretty much do the trick as far as strength. For extra strength, assuming you have good form and aren't going to hurt yourself doing so, build in some sets with paddles, and throw in some fly and IM work to develop a bigger range of muscles than you'd get from just doing freestyle. My master's coach has me do a bunch of that as my swims usually involve going against current at some point. I'm 5'7" and about 115 pounds. In my first Oly a couple of buff women asked me if I could handle the swim. (1500m in rather choppy surf.) Yes, no problem. I beat all but one of them. I'm rarely the first woman out of the water, but I'm usually in the top six or so, and usually the best in my AG. I can outswim and outlift a lot of more muscular women, and men.