General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Apparently need run training guidance Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-06-19 4:20 PM

User image

Regular
SF Bay area
Subject: Apparently need run training guidance

So, got the email with the race program in it.  Checking it out and looking over the rules to see if there's anything new and exciting.  On the bike, they say keep 4 bike lengths back to avoid drafting penalties when in the past I had always been told 3 lengths, but I guess that's interpretation of the draft zone from front wheel to front wheel vs. back wheel to front wheel perhaps.  No biggie.  Then I come upon the running rules and see this:

Run Rules
1. No form of locomotion other than running, walking or crawling is allowed.

OK.  I've been walking for over 50 years so think I can handle that portion.  Trained for marathons and my HIM plan has a lot of running built into it, so check that off.  Crawling.  Hmmm.  Can't say I've worked on that one.  Anyone got any tips on how to make the most out that that portion?  Suggested speedwork intervals?  Weight on the toes instead of the knees?  Keep the head up in aero position to minimize drag and maximize O2 intake?

I asked my infant granddaughter who was a whiz at the crawling thing, but the only advice she gave me in response was "Yummm!"

2013-06-19 4:51 PM
in reply to: TTom

User image

Regular
Jenison, MI
Subject: RE: Apparently need run training guidance
Originally posted by TTom

So, got the email with the race program in it.  Checking it out and looking over the rules to see if there's anything new and exciting.  On the bike, they say keep 4 bike lengths back to avoid drafting penalties when in the past I had always been told 3 lengths, but I guess that's interpretation of the draft zone from front wheel to front wheel vs. back wheel to front wheel perhaps.  No biggie.  Then I come upon the running rules and see this:

Run Rules