General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bought my first pair of clipless shoes and now need pedals, HELP Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-06-24 11:28 AM

Regular
American Fork, Utah
Subject: Bought my first pair of clipless shoes and now need pedals, HELP
So, I finally bought a pair of clipless shoes from eBay. They have SPD-SL 3 hole bottoms. Does that make sense? Can I just buy pedals from eBay which say SPD-SL, or do I have to be careful? Do I need special cleats too, or just ones that say SPD-SL? Are the SPD-SL shoes/pedals good or bad for an absolute beginner? Never ridden clipped-in before. Are they easy to get in and out of compared to others? Any chance someone has pedals and cleats they would want to part with..............cheap?

Looking forward to your responses, thanks in advance,

FERG

2013-06-25 9:20 AM
in reply to: FERG DADDY

User image

Veteran
Subject: RE: Bought my first pair of clipless shoes and now need pedals, HELP
SPD-SL is the pedal/cleat system, so any SPD-SL cleat will work with any SPD-SL pedal. They will work with your shoes just fine. You should be fine learning on them, they aren't any more or less difficult to use in than other systems. As far as the cleats go, if you buy new, your pedals should come with a set of cleats. There are two types, yellow, which will come with your pedals, which offer up to 6 degrees of lateral float, and red which are 0 degree float pedals. You probably want the yellow ones anyway so just use the ones that come with your pedals.
2013-06-25 11:04 AM
in reply to: FERG DADDY

User image

Master
Sedona, AZ
There are two general standards for clipless pedals - 2-hole (SPD) and 3-hole (SPD-SL/Look). Generally any pedal system that supports 3-hole cleats (SPD-SL, Look, Time, Speedplay, etc) will work with your shoes.