General Discussion Triathlon Talk » where to pick-up training after injury Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-06-25 7:20 PM

User image

New user
Subject: where to pick-up training after injury
Looking for advice on how to re-start my triathlon training after a long lay-off due to injury. Specifically how to ease back into running in regards to mileage.

Prior to the injury I had been training for about 7 months for my 1st season of triathlon (3 sprints and an olympic). I shattered my collarbone during a training ride in April and now have a nice piece hardware holding me back together. I had been doing the 2x balanced training plan with run mileage around 10 - 15mpw (my weekly long run was about 7 miles). I've been out of commission (not cleared to run or swim) for 8 weeks and expect another 3 before I get the full release from the doc. I've been riding the trainer hard to try to maintain fitness ( hooray for SufferFest!).

How do I even begin to 'resume' the training plan? What should be my new starting point for running? I realize I can't just pick up where I left off but don't even know where to start.

2013-06-25 8:00 PM
in reply to: bryathlete

User image

Expert
Grapevine, Texas
Subject: RE: where to pick-up training after injury
Sorry to hear about your collar bone. Here is a plan I'm using right now to rebuild:

http://www.pfitzinger.com/labreports/stressfracture.shtml

I had a stress fracture in my foot after my second marathon in late February, and when I tried getting back to running what seemed like low miles, my piriformis issue really flared up. So I consulted Google and came up with the above plan. It seems like a sensible way to rebuild, and avoid the too much too soon trap. I'm only on week 2 of the run plan, but so far so good. I'm also working on rebuilding some swim endurance right now, which seems to be a good fit for the non-running days. Hope you find something that works for you!

2013-06-26 8:04 AM
in reply to: 0