Other Resources My Cup of Joe » Question for Parents of older Teens Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2013-06-27 3:14 PM

User image

Expert
Subject: Question for Parents of older Teens

I'm wondering if any of you ever put guidelines on the type of degree study you are willing to help pay for.

I'm not sure I'd be willing to shell out $30,000 for a basket weaving certificate. 

(no offense to basket weavers intended, just throwing something very generic in there)

2013-06-27 3:29 PM
in reply to: KateTri1

User image

Veteran
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Subject: RE: Question for Parents of older Teens

First off let me say I am not a parent of a teen, but I do work at a University.  I am a Lab Manager in a R&D contract lab.

I hear about this quite frequently, that parents will not pay for their students history/theology/philosophy degree.  I mean no offense to those that have a degree in those, just using them as an example.  I think the arts are a great thing, and I am a history buff.  While there might be some great jobs in those fields, they are limited.

For me it would really depend on how financially secure I was.  But I would be more likely to pay for my child's college degree if it was in a STEM field, rather then the study of underwater basket weaving.

2013-06-27 3:59 PM

User image

Master
Livonia, MI

Ya know Kate, I basket weave and that kind of comment just really gets me..............kidding Tongue out

So, not a parent of a teen either but I was a teen who tested my parents often!  All I can tell you is that my dad was not super pleased with my choice of the psychology/sociology double major.  He didn't know what the heck I would with such a degree(s).  I argued that I would go to grad school of course!