General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Top of foot pain on longer runs Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-06-30 5:28 PM

Subject: Top of foot pain on longer runs
I've done some searches on this one, but haven't found anything that describes my exact symptoms. Would really appreciate any suggestions or others' experiences with this.

I'm a newbie training for an international on August 4th. Following the balanced plan from this site with some minor modifications. Everything has been going really well until two weeks ago at the end of my long run,at about 60 minutes, I started to feel pain in my left foot. It got worse very quickly and I had to stop running. Pain stopped immediately once I started walking, and felt fine the next day and on a short run a few days later. Then last week the same thing happened on my long run, but it started at about 40 minutes. Then today it started about 10 minutes into a short run. So it seems to be getting worse.

The pain is right in the center of the top of my foot, about halfway between my ankle and toes. It's not at all sensitive to pressure, so I'm hoping it's not a stress fracture. There's no swelling. It has felt better immediately once I stop running, except today it's still sore now a few hours later. One thing I noticed today is that if I relaxed my foot it got worse, but if I tensed up my arch and toes, it hurt much less. Maybe not enough arch support? Some other forums seemed to suggest lace bite, but I loosened up my laces a lot today with no improvement. I wear Mizuno Wave Riders.

Again, I'm hoping it's not a stress fracture since there is no pinpoint sensitivity or swelling. I plan to call the doctor tomorrow but would love input from anyone who has experienced anything like this.

Thanks,
-Josh

2013-06-30 10:52 PM
in reply to: 0

Subject: RE: Top of foot pain on longer runs