General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Do you own a road bike for training & a tri bike for races? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2013-07-19 3:50 PM

User image

Atlanta, Georgia
Subject: Do you own a road bike for training & a tri bike for races?
I am just getting started in triathlon training & I am still riding my converted mountain bike. I look around on the trails I ride on & see very few tri bikes, but a lot of road bikes. I know that tri bikes are taboo in group rides & difficult in congested areas, but I am the kind of person who likes to train the same way I would race.

It got me thinking...How many people own two completely separate bikes & do most of their training on a road bike & then train some on their race day tri bike? At a few grand a pop, I can't imagine this is a very affordable choice, but when I see so few tri bikes out there, it makes me wonder.

2013-07-19 4:00 PM
in reply to: Meathead

User image

Extreme Veteran
Ajo
Subject: RE: Do you own a road bike for training & a tri bike for races?
I do:

Specialized SHIV
Litespeed C3 aero
Specialized Stumpjumper HT 29er