General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Newbie in Madison area Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-07-21 8:16 PM

Subject: Newbie in Madison area

Hello my fellow Sconnies!  I am SO new to triathlons that I haven't ever done one, OR even run a short 5k race  I am a nursing student at UW-Madison, and trying to lose some weight...I love to swim and bike for fun (have always hated running), so I thought I'd set a goal for myself to do a sprint triathlon next summer.  I am currently doing a 5k training program, which is going about as well as I could hope.  I'm just wondering where people in the Madison area like to swim for training...I'm not sure if there are some lakes which I should absolutely stay out of and other places that are OK.  Any other tips or advice would be appreciated as well

Thanks!

2013-07-21 10:33 PM
in reply to: hrmueller

New user

Madison, WI
Subject: RE: Newbie in Madison area
H-

I am new to tri, too. Started training a little last Fall. Got more serious this spring. Shooting for a sprint in September. I swim mostly at Gold's Gym in Fitchburg but do some open water swimming from my pontoon on Lake Mendota (with my wife trying not to run me down). I'd like to hear where folks go for decent beach swimming. Is there a 'marked' course anywhere? An acquaintance used to train in Lake Wingra I think, but I don't know nything about it.

Jeff
2013-07-22 9:00 AM

Iron Donkey
, Wisconsin
Hello, and WELCOME, newbies!
There are a few Madisonian BT members that hopefully can pipe in and add their input since I'm a little outside of MadTown, but do work in the downtown area.
Unless you swim with a buddy, I wouldn't venture into the water myself. Blue-green algae is horrific in the summer for lake swimming, but, people do swim in the lakes at times.
Governor Nelson's State Park has a roped area that you can swim from the dock out for a 100 yards or so, which is okay.