General Discussion Triathlon Talk » pedals and cleats Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-08-05 7:39 AM

User image

Subject: pedals and cleats
I am very new to this (I have done one tri and have signed up for 3 more) and am using my road bike for triathlons. I have Speedplay pedals and cleats, which I like because of the dual sided entry. However, I am not sure they are the best option for tris. Speedplay cleats tend to get clogged with grass and mud very easily and they are notoriously difficult to walk in. I can see how they could cause problems running through transitions. I am not nearly coordinated enough at this point to have my shoes already clipped in to the pedals before I mount the bike, so that isn't an option.

What kind of pedals and cleats do people use for tris?

2013-08-05 7:43 AM
in reply to: happyscientist

User image

Expert
Is this Heaven? No, it's Iowa.
Subject: RE: pedals and cleats

I use Speed Play and I love them.  During tris, I have them already clipped in on the bike and I just run in my bare feet.  Hop on my bike, slide my feet in my tri shoes, cinch them up and off I go.  When I come back torwards transition, I undo the velcro, ride on top of my shoes, hop off my bike at the dismount line and run again in my bare feet.

Works pretty well.

Caution!  If you want to do this, you should practice it several times and not attempt it on race day for the first time.  (learned this the hard way LOL.)

2013-08-05 8:09 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Connecticut
Speedplays are plenty popular, but your points are valid. If you're not exiting transition with your shoes clipped in and the transition area is grassy and muddy, you might have a problem. Then again, you might have a problem with a positive cleat, ala look-style, as well, since that could also pick up some crud. If this is an ongoing concern, I'd look to some cyclocross friends for what they are doing, as they have to deal with mud and dirt as a factor of the race.