General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike talk Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-08-07 8:18 PM

Subject: Bike talk
So, I'm new to triathlons and new to biking basically. I'm a marathon runner and a good swimmer. I've started looking at bikes and all I can say is eeeekk, I don't feel like I want an entry level bike because I don't want to upgrade components right away. Any suggestions or personal preferences on bikes. Pretty open ended question.

2013-08-07 8:22 PM
in reply to: #4824049

Malvern, PA
Subject: RE: Bike talk
Get an entry level road bike. Budget about $1000. Make sure the fit is right.

If you really get serious, you can buy a dedicated tri/TT bike in a year or two and keep the road bike for training and group rides.
2013-08-07 8:25 PM
in reply to: Sbarca

Veteran
get yourself a bike fit. then decide what kind of bike you want, tri/road
2013-08-07 8:43 PM

User image

Welcome to BT.

First of all, you need to educate yourself on bikes.  If you were going to buy a car and didn't know what the difference between a V6 and a V8 is...or what an airbag is...you probably shouldn't be making a decision to buy a car.  Don't feel bad if you don't know anything about bikes now...you're not supposed to...  But the learning curve is pretty fast.

Talk to the cyclists you know and pick their brains.  Use google and research bikes, bike parts, etc.  Go to a bunch of bike shops and ask them to test ride as many bikes as you can.  Even the ones that are way out of your budget.  Ask questions.  But just go in with an open mind and know that you will get varying opinions.  The better you educate yourself, the better decision you can make.

Eventually you're going to want some sort of fitting.  That may help narrow down your choices.  Bike shopping is fun.  Don't rush the process and enjoy it.

2013-08-07 9:23 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Most important thing about a bike is the fit.