General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Xterra Grand Rapids - Oct 6 Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2013-08-08 12:50 PM

User image

Regular
Jenison, MI
Subject: Xterra Grand Rapids - Oct 6
Xterra is bringing an off road triathlon to the Grand Rapids area (Yankee Springs). I've never done an off road tri before, but it looks like it would be pretty fun. I am a little curious/concerned about potential water temps for a 1500m swim in early October, honestly.

My main reason for posting, though, is to ask about the needs for the mountain bike portion of an off road tri like this. I have an old mountain bike, a Trek SingleTrack, from the early/mid 90s. I don't do much mountain biking at all, I just use this bike to play around with on occasion. These things are heavy, but built to last. I still love the bike for some reason. Anyways, I don't know much about the Yankee Springs trails, so I am wondering if I could get by in this triathlon riding this kind of old technology? Any thoughts?

http://xterragrandrapids.com/

2013-08-08 1:41 PM
in reply to: MSU_Brad

User image

Veteran
Ferndale
Subject: RE: Xterra Grand Rapids - Oct 6
I did the Torn Shirt XTERRA back in June. The bike portion was dirt roads mixed with single track. Much like road triathlons there was a very wide range of bikes in transition.

This the trail description for Yankee Springs from the MMBA website...

Trail Description