General Discussion Triathlon Talk » 140.6 IronClyde Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-08-15 8:15 PM

User image

Subject: 140.6 IronClyde
After much consideration Ive committed to race Ironman Louisville in 2014. I'm interested to hear if any of my bigger brethren have raced this distance. What did your off season look like? Did you follow the BT ironman program? Any advice/tips you wish you would have known before you started your own training program?

2013-08-16 7:39 AM
in reply to: MUohio

User image

Subject: RE: 140.6 IronClyde
I have no advice but am interested in the response as I will be doing IMLP 2014 as my first 140.6. Good luck!
2013-08-16 1:19 PM

User image

Chicago, IL
I'm doing IMLOU this year, in 9 days in fact. This will be my first full IM, so I can't offer any words of wisdom surrounding the race itself.

I started training in January, I followed the Don Fink "Be Iron Fit" Competitive program. In that time I have dropped from 233lbs to about 205, in spite of eating a lot (more than I did prior to beginning the program, at least).

In hindsight, I wished I'd done more strength and flexibility training last winter. Once you begin the 30-week program, and it ramps up, I found I had zero time to do anything except the prescribed s/b/r/ workouts, and I feel I would have appreciated a better "strength" base.
2013-08-16 6:36 PM
in reply to: pmtaylor621

User image

Veteran
Edmonton, AB
Done 4 and have 3 more registered. It's an awesome journey and you're going to have some serious ups and downs. Keep plugging, the reward is so worth it at the end.

I actually interviewed a number of other athletes and wrote an article about the commitment needed. Have a read if you're interested! Good luck and keep us updated on how it's going.

http://trifattytri.blogspot.ca/2013/07/working-towards-ironman-job-...
2013-08-18 1:51 PM

User image

Expert