General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Breathing on flipturns Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-08-16 11:38 PM

Subject: Breathing on flipturns
Question for the experienced swimmers out there...

I'm relatively new to swimming, but I've recently graduated to the slowest lane in my local Masters. One thing is absolutely killing me though: breathing on the flip turns. It took me several months to figure out proper freestyle breathing, and I finally have it (for the most part at least), but everything goes horribly awry on the turn. I end up semi-choking, slow down, and it takes 1 or 2 more breathing cycles to reregulate until the next god-awful flip turn. at the suggestion of my swim coach, i've added some hypoxic sets in my training, but it doesn't seem to be helping much. I'm well aware there aren't too many flip turns to maneuver during a tri, but for the purposes of training i need to get better at this.

Before this gets into a discussion of flip turns vs. open turns, i'd rather just focus on breathing technique / advice assuming flip turns are the only option.

Any advice from those of you in the know would be greatly appreciated. As a runner, this whole swimming breathing thing is quite a challenge, and I thank any of you in advance who can offer some pointers or insight.

2013-08-17 1:35 AM
in reply to: SMCnyc

User image

Master
Salt Lake City
Subject: RE: Breathing on flipturns
I'm a long way from being a great swimmer but I did manage to teach myself to do flip turns in the off season last winter.

I struggled for quite a while with them as well, especially on longer sets where I'd inhale water and end up gasping for air or just be so winded I couldn't put effort into swimming because I needed the whole lap just to regain my composure.