General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Best Plan to follow to avoid injury Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-08-19 1:50 PM

User image

Expert
Subject: Best Plan to follow to avoid injury
Here's the situation - I have decided to race Rev 3 Cedar Point next September and would like to get some advice on which plan to follow with the goals of 1) avoiding injury during training and 2) finishing.

I know I have plenty of time but I've been bitten by the injury bug (PF, ITB, disc issues) and I want to do things differently with the hopes of avoiding injury. I've always been a dive right into it and hope for the best but I'm hoping that better planning on my part will help me. Just so you know, I'm a teacher on sabbatical next year so I can't afford a coach.

I've been looking at Be Iron Fit and the free program on this site. Which program should I go with that will allow me to avoid injury (I'm leaning toward BIF because of the reduced milage).

Thoughts? Any suggestions would be fantastic.

Many thanks!

2013-08-20 9:40 AM
in reply to: Qua17

User image

Expert
Brookings South Dakota
Subject: RE: Best Plan to follow to avoid injury
Whichever plan you choose, make sure you perform lots of strength, mobility, and flexibility work. That's an often overlooked tool for injury prevention
2013-08-20 10:04 AM
in reply to: ipull400watts

User image

Expert
Thanks for the reply. Great advice. Since you were kind enough to reply - let me clarify with the hopes of getting some more suggestions. What I am really looking for is a plan that emphasizes injury prevention. I am pissed at myself because it feels like I am starting back at square 1. I know I can do the distance - I just need a plan that will help me avoid bonehead training mistakes.

Thanks again for the advice.
2013-08-20 12:18 PM

User image

Champion
Williamston, Michigan