General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Preparing for my first tri - bike fitting Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-08-24 12:14 PM

Subject: Preparing for my first tri - bike fitting
Hi All,

I'm going to do my first triathlon (Olympic distance) in two weeks and thinking whether it makes sense to do a custom fitting for my bike before the race.

Little background - I've been running for last several years, haven't done much cycling, plus only learnt to swim 6-8 months ago.

I've been swimming 3 times a week ('swimming' means learning to not drown while in the water for extended time period ) did a marathon in June, but unfortunately didn't have much time to catch up with my cycling - would do few miles commuting on my city bike and, at best, once a week 20-35 mile ride on the road bike (no aero experience).

I know that the first race should be taken light and will be definitely doing more, but still want to try to get the best time I can. So the question is about my road bike, I was thinking that it would be useful to be fitted well, especially when I start doing more cycling (and I will) for the future races, but the question is whether it makes sense to do it before the race now. On one hand I'm quite busy at work and in the process of moving to another house, but on another, if it magically buys me some speed in the race in two weeks I'd consider finding time to do two visits to the fitter's shop (and paying good money)

Today i did a little test ride, 25 miles on a relatively flat but somewhat windy course, and could only do 19.2 mph over the whole distance :$

So not to go on for too long, do you guys think I'll benefit from a better fitted bike in such a short time? or I should just do the race with whatever I have and save money and time to prepare better for the next ones?

Thanks a lot in advance for any advice,
zura

2013-08-24 2:13 PM
in reply to: zura

User image

Pro
Melbourne FL
Gold member