General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Genetics determined?? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2013-09-05 1:41 PM

Subject: Genetics determined??
Hi everyone! This is my first time posting on the site. Like almost any triathlete I have the dream of going to Kona. I would love to Qualify and not have to get in automatically through doing 11 Ironmans. Obviously everyone is built differently, are we predestined by genes to how much a reality or dream it may be? I'm not planning on giving up my day job, but I do want to know if I shouldn't shoot so high.
I have done all the distances in the triathlon. I won a few sprints for my age group, but I was in the younger age group 20-24. I'm now 25.

I run a marathon essentially without training at 345 pace. I did run an Iron distance but it was right after motorcycle accident where my training was minimal and had some injuries. I did it in 14 hrs.

Am I wishful thinking?

2013-09-05 2:02 PM
in reply to: atbaron10

User image

Champion
Alabama
Subject: RE: Genetics determined??
I would never tell anyone to not pursue a dream but, having been born in the shallow end of the gene pool, I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that I could never KQ. I think to KQ you have to have a certain % of genetic gifting coupled with a great deal of training. Genetics alone will not get you there but neither will training alone. After 25 years, you know better than anyone how you stack up to your peers.

Anyway, I'd say swing for the fence! That is the only way you will know the answer for sure. Regret is probably the worst of all human emotions. Go for it!
2013-09-05 2:04 PM

Houston
I imagine it depends on a combination of genetics, training, and luck. You're young. You have time.
2013-09-05 2:05 PM

User image

Champion
Sarasota, FL

Hard to answer your question without more information about your background and training.