Other Resources My Cup of Joe » Career Change to High School Teacher Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply
2013-09-16 11:02 PM

Subject: Career Change to High School Teacher
I'm male, 25 years old and live in New Zealand.

I studied for 3 years, getting an agribusiness and supply chain degree (basically the finance side of farming and import/export/transport)

I've been working coming up 4 years now in office jobs. I've worked for a fruit export company for 10 months, as a bank teller for 18 months and have been working at a retailer (similar to Wal-Mart but on a smaller scale) in their shipping department and I'm now 6 months through my 24 month "graduate" role which I do training around different parts of the supply chain.

So to sum up, I've done quite a bit in my working career in the 4 years since I started work.

I'm really bored in an office, pushing numbers into the computer, going to meetings, etc, etc.

I don't feel like anything I'm doing makes a difference in my career. I want to do something where I'm constantly busy and making a difference to people. I've looked around and the only careers I can find that would suit me would be a high school teacher.

Does anyone have any thoughts or experience they can share?

2013-09-17 11:02 AM
in reply to: elliotpower

User image

Resident Curmudgeon
The Road Back
Gold member
Subject: RE: Career Change to High School Teacher
Hopefully things are different in NZ, but my wife has taught school for thirty years and is counting the hours until she retires while hating every day she has to go to work. It's certainly not the same rewarding profession she entered into, and is fraught with bureaucracy and discipline issues. Her peers, regardless of their experience levels, have been quitting in droves over the past few years.