General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Signing up for HIM without knowing how to swim Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2013-09-19 7:42 PM

Subject: Signing up for HIM without knowing how to swim
Hi everyone, newbie here. Long time lurker, first time posting. So I'd like to sign up for HIM Racine 2014. I'm an otherwise fit 32-year-old. I run marathons and half-marathons regularly. And I've done a few metric centuries on my road bike. All I need to do now is learn how to swim. I thought this would be easy, but good lord it is really difficult. I'm not afraid of the water. I just fail miserably at the breathing aspect. Things that I've tried:

1) Joined a masters swim class -- It was embarrassing. They were very nice about it, but all I can do is doggy paddle. I can run a 3:30 marathon, but I'm getting my butt kicked in the pool by someone's grandma in the next lane. They suggested private lessons.

2) Hired a swim coach -- I've only had one lesson so far, but I've improved a bit. I can stick my face in the water and blow bubbles out my nose. But I can't rotate and breathe. I tried finding the pocket and breathing in the bow wave, but I feel rushed and end up with a lung full of air plus pool water. I empty out my lungs completely underwater and I don't lift my head. Coach suggested I practice some drills at the gym and then schedule our next lesson when I've had some practice.

3) Practiced in the pool -- I went to the pool everyday for a week and I still can't do the body rotation to breathe. I spend 30-45 minutes in the pool before work. I'm relaxed, but continue to fail. After a week of no progress, I decided to try TI.