General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Beginner swim training programs Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-10-30 1:40 PM

User image

Subject: Beginner swim training programs
so, I'm looking for a beginner swimming training program. I'm really frustrated with what I've found so far (also, I'm overtired, which may actually be adding to the frustration more than the search itself!) I'm not an absolute newbie in the water, but I don't have much in the way of endurance yet. So when I find a beginner program that says- OK to warm up, swim 500 yards slowly, I think 500 yards would be a complete workout for me, and I couldn't do 50 without stopping. So where are the ones in between "go get lessons and a life jacket " and "Michael Phelps thinks this is a beginner" training plan?

So help! point me in the right direction for building over the winter, starting really really slow. I can't run right now, so this is my chance t get a good base built.

2013-10-30 1:41 PM
in reply to: el penguino

User image

Pro
Subject: RE: Beginner swim training programs
2013-10-30 1:46 PM

User image

Not a Coach
Media, PA

Actually, if you really can't do 50 without stopping, I'd highly encourage you to get some lessons/coaching.  You can do without them, but they will speed your progress immensely. 

You can, however, forego the life jacket. 

2013-10-30 3:05 PM
in reply to: ratherbeswimming

User image

Thanks, I'll try starting there- missed the topic as it went by!!
2013-10-30 3:07 PM
in reply to: JohnnyKay

User image

I don't feel like I need a coach to just get started, but I am definitely planning on something over the winter as I go- either lessons or coaching. I'm not 100% sure there is a masters group near me (Vermont can be a little sparse for that kind of thing sometime)

Thanks! I definitely will be planning on going that way once I get going and can arrange it. Probably a good Christmas present to myself!
2013-10-30 4:35 PM

User image