General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Wetsuits Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-11-21 7:06 AM

Subject: Wetsuits
I am new to the tri world and I am a weak swimmer. I have heard that a wetsuit is the way to go and will provide buoyancy to make you float. They said you can float in one without any work. How true is this statement?

2013-11-21 7:13 AM
in reply to: Run/BikertoTri

User image

Veteran
New Hampshire
Subject: RE: Wetsuits
In the ocean (salt water) I can pretty much just lay back and will float. I have the Xterra Vortex Full. In a lake/pond/whatever else, it definitely helps a lot, but you can't just lay back and float necessarily. I'm also a bigger guy 6'6" 240# so maybe for a smaller person you'd get more buoyancy. If you can get some good quality pool work in without the wetsuit, once you put it on during an open water swim you'll notice a huge difference.
2013-11-21 7:29 AM

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member
The wetsuit will provide some additional buoyancy but you should not rely on this for your safety in the water. If you cannot complete the race distance (no matter how slowly) comfortably without a wetsuit, please do not enter a tri until you have worked on your swim some more! I haven't noticed that I can float without effort in my full wetsuit in fresh water; I still have to maintain proper body position and do some amount of stroke or treading water. In fact I once somehow ended up upside down in very choppy water (?!) and the wetsuit made it harder for me to get my head back up. It's not like a life jacket that pops you back to the surface, head up. I'm a strong swimmer, but in that instance I was in a bit of a panic. (Caught in a storm with high winds on a lake and a huge swell came at me, I tried to dive under as it as I do when body surfing in the tropical ocean and it didn't work out!)