General Discussion Triathlon Talk » The importance of finding a lifting program Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-12-19 5:53 PM

Subject: The importance of finding a lifting program
Depending on your goals, there are a number of lifting programs out there, that have been designed and tested by the best. I was always a bit skeptical of the 5/3/1 and 5x5 programs, but I've been following Bill Starr's 5x5 program for nearly three months, and the strength gains have been incredible. It is mentally tedious at first, to go from a high volume way of lifting (which I had been following for a while-I've been lifting off/on for a few years) to a focused, intense, low volume program like 5x5. I honestly wouldn't ever turn back to lifting without a designed program, at this stage...having experienced if you find the right program for your needs, how well it works.

I've modified it slightly, in that I also added in accessory work on non 5x5 days. I'm curious if any here follow any particular programs, and how you like them so far?

2013-12-27 9:59 AM
in reply to: SGirl

User image

Master
Woodbridge , Virginia
Subject: RE: The importance of finding a lifting program
As a trainer.. You have to find a plan that works and is fun for you. 5x5 plans are ok but for strength endurance 3 sets @ 8-12 reps 50-70% of your 1 Rep Max with short rest. I utilize this method with my clients, I generally do fullbody workout while focusing on a specific area. I meet with some clients 2 days a week. its not about quantity its all about quality.
2013-12-27 4:49 PM
in reply to: momo

Originally posted by momo

As a trainer.. You have to find a plan that works and is fun for you. 5x5 plans are ok but for strength endurance 3 sets @ 8-12 reps 50-70% of your 1 Rep Max with short rest. I utilize this method with my clients, I generally do fullbody workout while focusing on a specific area. I meet with some clients 2 days a week. its not about quantity its all about quality.