General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Run cadence questions. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-12-28 11:52 AM

User image

Veteran
Nova Scotia, Canada
Subject: Run cadence questions.
I've been running for the last two years or so pretty consistently, after having a off and on again relationship due to a few medial meniscus problems. Since I've gotten orthotics however those problems seem to have gone by the way side. I have had a few other smaller things like ITBS over the past two years but they have cleared up pretty quickly with some rest and a trip or two to see my physio. For Christmas I received a foot pod to go with my 910. Having always heard that you should strive for a run cadence of around 90, I was interested to see mine as I guessed I was a little bit less. I'm 6'2", 210(I usually race around 200-205). My 10k time is 46:20, half is 1:46:30. Usually run around 20 miles a week when not building up to a longer race. As I expected my cadence for my easy runs(5:35/km) is 84-85 and for tempo runs(4:45km) is 86-87. I tried a few times to get my run cadence up to 90 but I don't think I even got there. It really felt like I had to shuffle to get this cadence and seemed like more work then normal at a given pace. Just wondering from any of the seasoned runners, or runners who have increased their run cadence how they did it, and does the same cadence work for everyone of different sizes?

2013-12-28 12:01 PM
in reply to: BigDaddyD79

Master
Northern IL
Subject: RE: Run cadence questions.

I just run with what feels quick & light on my feet at the time.

2013-12-28 12:16 PM

User image

Master
Mechanicsburg, PA
I am 6’ and was mainly running strides at around 170-180spm (85-90). I increased my spm to 190spm (95) to get away from the striding. It worked but as you said, it was like a fast shuffle. It felt unnatural but I was able to adjust over a month or so.