General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Kurt Kinetic Road machine questions Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-01-07 7:14 AM

User image

Regular
Subject: Kurt Kinetic Road machine questions
Santa brought me a Kurt Kinetic Road Machine for Christmas, and so far I'm liking it. Stable, smooth and quiet.

My questions:

1. When I ride outside, I usually average around 19 mph. (I'm still a cycling newbie, but I'm working on it. ) On the KK, I rode around 15 mph, with what I thought was pretty good Rate of Perceived Exertion, similar to my 19 mph rides. Anyone else notice this with their KK Road Machine, or am I just dogging it?

2. I found two different formulas online to convert speed to power for the KK Road Machine, I'm using this one in an excel spreadsheet: P=S^3*0.019168+S*5.24482. Is this the correct one? How accurate is this power estimation?

3. I loosen the knob at the back to free the tire after each ride, but leave the bike clamped into the trainer. Is it ok to leave my bike clamped onto the KK all the time?

2014-01-07 7:16 AM
in reply to: DannyII

User image

Subject: RE: Kurt Kinetic Road machine questions
Do not compare trainer speed/power/whatever to outside. Compare trainer rides to previous trainer rides.

I had a bump in a trainer tire from leaving it in so I would suggest not doing that

2014-01-07 7:26 AM

User image

Veteran
Northern Illinois
As Daniel said don't compare outside to inside, they are not the same.

I use the Inride on my KK so I'm not familiar with any conversions, sorry.

You are fine to leave the bike clamped in. Just take the pressure off the tire. I leave mine clamped in all winter.
2014-01-07 7:34 AM

User image

Pro
Bellingham, WA

1) You cannot compare mph between on the road vs, trainer.  I have a Cycleops Fluid 2 and 16.5 on the trainer feels about the same as 20 on the road.  I pay little attention to speed on the trainer other than to compare to previous sessions.