General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Do triathlons have finish times? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-01-09 12:55 AM

User image

Subject: Do triathlons have finish times?
I'm (obviously) really new and I'm still learning everything I need to learn for my first triathlon in August. According to the schedule on the Chicago SuperSprint webpage, the first wave begins at 7 AM and 8:55 AM is the "final finisher." My goal this year is to complete the triathlon. Does this schedule mean that if I do not finish by 8:55 AM that I will have failed to officially complete the triathlon?

2014-01-09 3:01 AM
in reply to: Carolyn24

User image

Subject: RE: Do triathlons have finish times?
Correct. Odds are if you're in even decent shape you'll make the cut off times for a tri, though.

Well, in all honesty, unless they pull you from the course even if you finish after 8:55 you'll still have finished, just not with an official time and with a DNF (Did Not Finish) time in the standings.

2014-01-09 6:11 AM

User image

Champion
MA

It depends on the race. Many have an estimated schedule. Normally if it is a hard and fast cut off they will mention it in the rules or somewhere on the website.

Of the sprints I have done (more than 25) I don't think any had a strict had to finish by xxx time rule. This can be dependent on location, Race Director, and permits issued by town or area.  Only race I know that has hard and fast time cut off is Ironman distance races.

Enjoy your journey to your first triathlon!

2014-01-09 7:25 AM

User image

Melbourne, Florida

Often the finish times are for scheduling of the awards ceremonies. If you're finishing after 8:55 you clearly didn't podium. There have been many races where people are still finishing their race after awards have been distributed.