General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Entering my first ever Triathlon, I'm a newbie to the sport Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-01-09 3:03 PM

Subject: Entering my first ever Triathlon, I'm a newbie to the sport
So I'm hoping to enter my first ever Triathlon in May, I have started training as of three weeks ago, I do indoor training at the gym seeing is the weather is cold, I've been swimming and biking as well as a little running. I've been cycling for 3 years now so that's not new to me and I know a bit about running and swimming, the thing I have no idea about would be the dreaded question, What do triathletes wear when racing, I'll hopefully be entering in The Columbia Triathlon in May hoping registration is not closed in February, what I would like to know is what gear to purchase to be race complete, I would like to buy and wear as little as possible, meaning I want to be able to wear the same one piece or two piece suit for each event and only have to take off and put on shoes swim cap goggles socks and cycling shoes as well as helmet, any and all info is greatly appreciated, as well if I rent a trek madone from my local bike shop to use during the race is that ok to do so?

2014-01-11 9:56 PM
in reply to: Anguscole76

User image

Master
University Park, MD
Subject: RE: Entering my first ever Triathlon, I'm a newbie to the sport
Welcome! Hang around on the main BT forums and you'll learn a lot. Many people with similar questions.

Columbia Tri is a real test for your first tri. It's a great event, but also quite challenging with the hills on the bike and run. I did Columbia Tri as my first 'official' race, though I did a very low-key semi-official sprint tri as a test a couple of weeks before that.