General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hello from Kentucky Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-01-14 1:23 PM

User image

Subject: Hello from Kentucky
Newbie here from Central Kentucky.

Little back story: I've been running for many years. I've completed several 1/2 marathons and a few Duathlons. I was planning on completing the Derby full marathon this year, but a recent IT band issue is keeping down so I'm not sure about that race.

Moving on, I have thought about, talked about, wanted to do a triathlon for a long time. Maybe now is the time. I'm like many, swimming isn't my strong point. I can swim....but really I can't. Honestly, the more I read on this site, the more I think that maybe I should stick to running/cycling. It seems there is much more in to swimming and OWS than I thought. I have a local YMCA that I planned on taking some lessons with, but I'm starting to question all of this already. There's not many places around that I can practice OWS, except the Kentucky River.

This is the race I was thinking about debuting in: http://www.borderchallengetri.com/

So, here I am....still on the fence. A little worried about the swim and if this is something I can do.

2014-01-16 5:46 AM
in reply to: jblaylock

User image

Melon Presser
Subject: RE: Hello from Kentucky

Hi, welcome to BT and triathlon!

If you can swim, and can work up to getting from point A to point B in a triathlon swim, that's really all you need. If you want to get GOOD at swimming, then it takes as much time as anything to get good at.

I'd go ahead with the swim lessons--you don't lose anything by learning to be more proficient and comfortable in the water, just as a life and exercise skill. You can decide on the triathlon later, if it doesn't sell out fast.

2014-01-17 6:36 PM

User image

Master
Englewood, Florida