General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hello from frigid upstate NY! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-01-25 5:56 AM

User image

Subject: Hello from frigid upstate NY!
Hi there! I'm new and very excited to be part of this community! I have been running for 9 years now, after I got on the scale on Thanksgiving 2005 and was horrified at what I saw (I know, who gets on the scale on Thanksgiving?! I guess I needed to hit rock-bottom...)
I've done a few half-marathons and realized I don't actually hate swimming and maybe I could complete a triathlon.
I will attempt a Sprint tri on June 9. I am most worried about biking for some reason. I just can't seem to spin my legs fast.
Anyway, enough out of me! Glad to be a part of beginnertriathlete.com!

2014-01-25 6:34 AM
in reply to: lserbalik

User image

Expert
, North Carolina
Subject: RE: Hello from frigid upstate NY!

Originally posted by lserbalik Hi there! I'm new and very excited to be part of this community! I have been running for 9 years now, after I got on the scale on Thanksgiving 2005 and was horrified at what I saw (I know, who gets on the scale on Thanksgiving?! I guess I needed to hit rock-bottom...) I've done a few half-marathons and realized I don't actually hate swimming and maybe I could complete a triathlon. I will attempt a Sprint tri on June 9. I am most worried about biking for some reason. I just can't seem to spin my legs fast. Anyway, enough out of me! Glad to be a part of beginnertriathlete.com!

Welcome to BT!  It's awesome that you are already a runner; that will help.  Not hating swimming helps too!  As for the bike, you don't need to worry about being fast at your first race so long as you can make it up any hills you may encounter; so know the course ahead of time.