General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Strength Training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-02-06 4:13 AM

Subject: Strength Training
Hi Everyone!

New to triathlons here, total beginner!

I've never really done strength training before, except for the many videos of various exercises you can do at home etc.

Anyway, everything I read talks about recovery time when strength training. But my experience has always been (in the videos) to do a bunch of different exercises/lifts one after the other and then take a short break.

I'm tri'ing for weight loss, but I'm also interested in becoming stronger. Should I be resting between sets, even if I'm switching muscle groups (i.e. do a set for abs, rest, set for chest, rest, set for legs, rest)? Or should I be grouping my sets?

Thanks for the help!

Yaz

2014-02-06 10:44 AM
in reply to: yazimariel

User image

Subject: RE: Strength Training
Just my experience, but the answer for me is yes to your question. At least one workout a week the only rest I take is between machines or the weight lifting area. Most of the time, though I do take a 30 to 45 second rest. It also depends on effort. I am a data junky, so i wear a HR monitor during strength training too. It warns me when I drop below a certain rate, when I do I shorten the rest period. Or increase the effort and/or weight. The thing I noticed was that I had to be careful with too much muscle mass gain. I am a bigger guy and notice my weight and my measurements of my chest and arms rising when I did too much weight. So, I did less weight and more reps and did them faster too.

Like most things, it is listening to your body, and seeing what works for you. I am still trying to figure it out myself, so take what you want from this.

Do you use a training plan or an app to help you train if so which one? I use Gain fitness app.
2014-02-06 4:48 PM
in reply to: #4945103

Subject: RE: Strength Training