General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Frustrated Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-03-05 11:41 AM

Subject: Frustrated
Hello,

I am a real Clydesdale. I'm 39yo, 6', 320, and have always been a big boy (played college ball as an o-lineman). I've done multiple triathlons, bikes, runs, etc. over the past two years as motivation to get healthier. Longest tri was New Orleans 70.3.

Here's my problem - I cannot shed weight. I used to be able to, but now I'm literally stuck at 320. It's crazy. Right now I'm training for a 13.1 in April and my long runs are up to 8mi. I'M GAINING WEIGHT! I've put on 5 pounds since I started training in December.

Training looks like this:
- Monday: Weights or cross train (swim, bike, P90x)
- Tuesday: Run (up to 5mi)
- Wednesday: Weights or cross train
- Thursday: Run (5mi)
- Friday: Off
- Saturday: Weights or cross train
- Sunday: 8mi

Daily intake is well below my BMR. Here is a typical day:
- Protein shake (muscle milk) and 1-2 pieces of fruit for breakfast
- Small sandwich or salad, hard boiled eggs, etc. for lunch. Nothing big or bad
- Muscle milk shake for mid-afternoon snack
- Sensible dinner of protein and a veggie most days, some indulgence on the weekends
- I do like beer, but I moderate intake. Some nights are worse than others, but I try to stick to social drinking on the weekends. No binging.
- I don't drink sodas; I'm not big on sweets...

I've seen doctors. No thyroid issues, no major health issues. I'm not on any medications. I am, by all accounts, incredibly fit. I am also officially obese. I'm out of options. As a lifelong battler with weight, I've done it all and all of my old tricks to shedding weight have failed me. Not ready to give up but really getting tired of this.

My next step is to see a nutritionist. I'm just curious if any of you have had or are having a similar issue.

Cheers,
Jason

2014-03-05 11:48 AM
in reply to: #4960082

Subject: RE: Frustrated