General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Beginners question. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-03-10 5:06 AM

, England
Subject: Beginners question.
Hi everyone. New to the site (and Triathlon) so hopefully you won't mind if I ask a question as a complete beginner to distance running.

I'm quite happy on a bike, and this is where my strength is. I have never really focused on distance running before though; in fact I've not done any real running since my school days which ended a long time ago. Over the last month though I have progressed from literally not being able to go further than 600m without dying, to now, where I am up to just under 5k in around 30mins, which I'll take as some small progress.

My question then is this - at what distance should I really be thinking about nutritional / energy drinks or supplements during my runs? As I'm finding that at around the 3.5 - 4k mark I'm starting to tank. My mind tells me that this is a pathetic distance to be thinking about supplements, and that actually it's just that I haven't built up the stamina in my legs, and that if just keep at it - building distance slowly - it'll get better.

Many thanks for your thoughts.

Stephen

2014-03-10 5:21 AM
in reply to: 0

Subject: RE: Beginners question.
I think that you will have to try out doing it at different times and find out a suitable time when your body actually needs the energy drink.
root canal Rockville MD

Edited by ArturLoli 2014-03-10 5:23 AM
2014-03-11 8:24 AM
in reply to: Svalbaard

User image

Originally posted by Svalbaard As I'm finding that at around the 3.5 - 4k mark I'm starting to tank. My mind tells me that this is a pathetic distance to be thinking about supplements, and that actually it's just that I haven't built up the stamina in my legs, and that if just keep at it - building distance slowly - it'll get better. Many thanks for your thoughts. Stephen

You answered your own question It just takes time!