General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Triathlon shorts Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-03-10 6:04 AM

, England
Subject: Triathlon shorts
Hi all, I am new to Triathlon and was hoping for a little guidance.

There seem to be a plethora of shorts on the market that cover everything from swimming, running, swimming & running, running and cycling, one piece suits, two piece suits etc etc.

I was hoping for a steer on a single pair of Tri shorts to initially cover both running and cycling as I'm presuming that most triathletes don't change shorts during the transitions between these? I am based in the UK so any weblinks would be useful.

Many thanks in advance.

Stephen

2014-03-10 12:17 PM
in reply to: Svalbaard

Subject: RE: Triathlon shorts
I bought a pair of Zoot tri shorts on amazon, great for all three (swim,bike,run) no need to change at all. sorry no link, i don't remember what model they were, and im at work right now... slacking off.
2014-03-10 1:09 PM
in reply to: seiken

I have a pair of Tri zoot shorts. They were the right price. Anything labeled 'Tri' shorts, should be good for all three (S, B, R). It has a very light pad. Where as a pair of Bike shorts has a bigger pad. This make them more comfortable for biking but not good for swimming (absorbs water, would be like a big diaper) or running (again diaperish, especially if you swam in them). I have a pair of bike shorts for longer training bikes, but I also train in my Tri shorts, maybe a little less comfortable but not too crazy. If money is an issue start with Tri shorts, best if you can try them on, as sizing is different for every company and then add Bike shorts as money allows.

Any one piece Tri suits should just have the light pad. Perfect for a race, so good for all three.

No changing in the transition, nudity is not allowed (atleast in Canada).
2014-03-10 3:31 PM
in reply to: nicroor

User image

Expert
Middle River, Maryland
Silver member