General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Howdy! I'm Brianne, and I'm jumping right in! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-03-12 10:59 AM

Subject: Howdy! I'm Brianne, and I'm jumping right in!
Howdy!

My name is Brianne. I'm a wife and mom from North Texas. I work full time as a county extension agent that counsels and guides people on health and nutrition, along with other healthy living topics. With 3 precious kids under the age of 5, I've packed on a few extra pounds from pregnancies and a hectic lifestyle. I decided I need to start practicing what I preach in regards to living a more active, healthy life. I deserve to feel good about myself, my husband deserves his hot wife back, and my kids deserve the healthiest mom they can get!

I'm the type of person that works better under pressure and deadlines, so I signed myself up for "My First Tri" in Irving on June 1st. Yes, 12 weeks away. And I don't do any physical activity regularly, so I know this is going to be very hard. I also know that if I didn't give myself a deadline, I would be on the "Tomorrow Diet" forever.

The "My First Tri" is a 300M swim, 7 mile bike, and a 5K. The running is definitely going to be the hardest part for me.

In regards to gear, what do I NEED? I've already got a road bike and recently purchased a decent pair of Under Armour running shoes. I've got the swimsuit, goggles, and swim cap. I know I need to get a bike helmet as well. What am I missing that I need or what are the "go-to" items that may be just above necessity?

I would welcome any tips, tricks, and encouragement from any of you veterans or "veteran-newbies".

Thanks!
Brianne

2014-03-12 12:32 PM
in reply to: bnlaggie

User image

Elite
Subject: RE: Howdy! I'm Brianne, and I'm jumping right in!

Hi Brianne,