General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Comfort wave or age group for first tri with ows? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-03-14 9:00 PM

User image

Veteran
Tucson
Subject: Comfort wave or age group for first tri with ows?

Hi, all.  I was just getting ready to sign up for a sprint tri that would be my first one with an ows.  I have done one pool sprint so far and will be doing another one in a week.  Both have a serpentine swim.  I have zero ows experience but plan on doing at least 2 open water swims prior to this ows tri.  As I was on the registration page I see they have the option to go in the last wave and they call it the "comfort wave".  The competitive side in me says to go with age group.  I seriously doubt I would podium though.  I don't for see any issues with ows such as panic but you never know.  What say you, BT?

2014-03-14 9:08 PM
in reply to: desertchica

Subject: RE: Comfort wave or age group for first tri with ows?
There's a good chance you will panic. . . but I really wouldn't want to be with a group of newcomers who are all panicking. That doesn't sound like fun at all. Just start at the back of your age group and take the first 100 real slow.
2014-03-14 9:35 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

With absolutely zero OW experience, I'd go with the comfort wave. I don't know the conditions where you will be swimming, whether it's in a lake, river or ocean... Experience, water temp and conditions all play a role in how people act in the water. Why not jump in and see what you think before you sign up.

I can say, I'm happy that I've always swam with my age group. It's only an elbow to the face that you will be missing if you go with the comfort wave.

One more thing, this is your race, you paid for it and you trained for it. Do the race as you want to, not because others don't want to swim with someone who may or may not panic.

Edited by AndyEWU07 2014-03-14 9:38 PM
2014-03-14 9:43 PM

User image

Master
Minnetonka, Minnesota