General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swim motivation Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2014-03-15 1:40 PM

Subject: Swim motivation

Hi all, 

I am quite new in triathlon, I started training for triathlons 7 months ago, I haven't done any triathlon yet but I can't wait for the season to start!!

I have a problem and that's called swimming... 

I really love running, I have been running now for almost 5 or 6 years. Always as a hobby but since I started training from triathlon I improved my times quite a lot and I am really happy about it. 

I love and I really enjoy cycling, it makes improves my running and it changes the monothony of just training for running. I enjoy the landscape, I enjoy climbing, going downhill, everything...

But the day I have my swimming training... I try to find all excuses not to go... but I force myself and I go. I plan 1 day per week swim training and even if I improved a lot the distance since September... I still don't really enjoy it... I just force myself to go to swim, it's not like running or cycling that I am really into it.

Did anyone of you go through this when you started?

Could you please help me and give me some motivation tips??

I don't want to stop training for triathlon and do duathlons, I really wanna do this, but I would love to have the same feeling about swimming than when I have to go running or cycling...

Any tips? Is it normal??

Edited by tripower 2014-03-15 1:41 PM

2014-03-15 2:08 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Veteran
Grapevine, TX
Subject: RE: Swim motivation
Originally posted by tripower

Hi all, 

I am quite new in triathlon, I started training for triathlons 7 months ago, I haven't done any triathlon yet but I can't wait for the season to start!!

I have a problem and that's called swimming...