General Discussion Triathlon Talk » swim goggles Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2014-03-18 4:40 PM

nashville, Tennessee
Subject: swim goggles
Just curious about how goggles should fit. Now that getting into some long continuous swims, by the time I'm finished my head hurts a little and I will have the circles around my eyes for a few hours. I have been using Aquasphere kayennes for about 2 years now. Doesn't bother me for short periods of time. Any recommendations on other types that are comfortable?

2014-03-18 4:58 PM
in reply to: mchadcota2

User image

Austin
Subject: RE: swim goggles

I hear ya, as my swims have gotten longer my goggle eyes stay pressed in my head longer.

I was thinking of switching from racing style goggles to something with more outer seal.

Next time I am at the swim shop I was going to pick up some NEST PRO goggles from tyr. they seem like the next upgrade for my swim.

2014-03-18 5:48 PM

User image

Elite
PEI, Canada

Goggles are a very personal preference so it's hard to make recommendations.  That said, if your head hurts then it sounds like you've got the strap too tight!  If your goggles fit your face properly then there is no need for the strap to be tight, just a tiny bit of tension to keep it in place is all that is required.

2014-03-18 6:34 PM

If you can't find one that fits get the Swedish goggle since they end up being a custom fit.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swedish_goggles
2014-03-18 7:02 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Expert
Floriduh
Arend is correct, goggles are a very personal choice. I have maybe 10 pair of goggles, some fit better than others. Not the most expensive game of trial and error you can play.

Edited by Oysterboy 2014-03-18 7:11 PM
2014-03-18 8:27 PM
in reply to: Oysterboy

User image