General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Rest Days Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2014-03-31 12:52 PM

Subject: Rest Days
Do you schedule rest days into your training? Currently I schedule Mondays as a complete day of rest but sometimes I think I could use that day for another swim. I do 3 swims/bikes/runs the other 6 days with some days being doubles. I feel like I'm doing enough until I read the posts that say "if you want to swim better- swim more, if you want to bike better- bike more, if you want run better- run more". Of course I would like to do all 3 better who wouldn't?

2014-03-31 1:03 PM
in reply to: USAFR

Subject: RE: Rest Days
I'm not in any tri specific training right now as I am just learning to swim but I think a rest day every now and then is a good thing. When I was younger and racing bikes I recovered from hard efforts a lot quick and didn't take too many rest days. I think they are essential as I get older. That said... sometimes a rest day to me is a super easy spin on the bike. Not a training ride, but a recovery ride just to loosen up and get the blood flowing.
2014-03-31 1:19 PM

User image

Veteran
Austin, Texas

I try to manage rest in the context of all three sports, and by time in hours between workouts (so, not just by the "day" - doing some workouts early or late to give myself the appropriate rest).

I typically DO schedule Monday as a rest day, with an optional EASY swim.  Even when I feel like running (unless there is a schedule reason to shift the week around or I need an easy recovery run rather than a recovery swim), I let the legs rest Mondays after the typical weekend madness.  That means I don't do kick sets during the Monday swim!