General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Beginner Triathlete moving from Singapore to NY Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-04-02 7:10 PM

Subject: Beginner Triathlete moving from Singapore to NY
I am a beginner triathlete. I have done a couple of sprints and plan to do a Standard Distance in May in Bintan near Singapore. I am moving in August to NY, and I expect to work in Downtown Manhattan, and live somewhere sensible for my family (wife + 8 year old son).

I am looking for recommendations on what would be a good place to live so I can train with the goal of doing an Ironman by September 2015. Which place in the TriState area has the best triathlon training ecosystem (clubs / biking / meet ups / swimming pools and open water)? I am really afraid of losing the momentum I have built up, and want to get into the groove right away. I may need a couple of months to get a US drivers license and car. So, if any recommendations for places with good public transport, or bikability would be really helpful.

If you have any club recommendations or training groups that I can try out, that would be awesome. I will be traveling to NYC in April to find an apartment, and I would like to try out a training session or two, if that is feasible.

2014-04-03 6:12 AM
in reply to: rajenprabhu

User image

Pro
, New Hampshire
Subject: RE: Beginner Triathlete moving from Singapore to NY